International Geothermal Association Announces New Leadership Team Following Recent Election


The Hague, 28 June 2024 – The International Geothermal Association a leading global organization dedicated to advance geothermal energy worldwide is proud to announce the election of its new leadership team. The election, which concluded by the Board of Directors on 27 June 2024, marks a significant milestone in the association’s ongoing commitment to promote and advocate for geothermal energy globally.

The newly elected leadership team includes:

  • President: Bjarni Palsson
  • Vice President: Suryantini
  • Treasurer: Jaime Quinao
  • Secretary: Adele Manzella

Bjarni Palsson, the new President of IGA expressed excitement and gratitude, stating, “I am honoured to have been elected to lead the Board and govern the ongoing operations initiated worldwide. Together with the newly elected team, we are committed to driving forward our mission of advancing geothermal energy.  Our focus will be on visibility, advocacy and creating impact for our members regarding policies and driving sustainability in each and every conversation.”

The election process was overseen by the appointed interim President Andy Blair ensuring a transparent and fair election. The entire Board thanks Andy Blair for her service and commitment.

The IGA has been at the forefront of the geothermal sector since 1988, providing invaluable resources, advocacy, and support to its members. The newly elected leadership team is expected to build on this strong foundation, bringing fresh perspectives and innovative ideas to the table.

For more information about the new leadership team and upcoming initiatives, please visit or contact

Media contact on behalf of the IGA:

Dr Marit Brommer
Executive Director
International Geothermal Association